Jam Power Officially Announced

Posted on October 1, 2010
Koshi Inaba News

The official announcement for Stevie Salas’ new cover album “Jam Power” has been posted on B’z Official Website. As we previously reported, it’s going to be released on October 20th, 2010 priced at 2500 Yen in Japan. It looks like it is going to be available internationally as well, since the Japanese edition contains a bonus track which is exclusive to Japan. Koshi Inaba is going to be the lead vocalist on the track “Police on my back” which was originally recorded by the band The Clash.

Also, as posted on HMV.co.jp in the song credits, there’s a story associated with it:

After I had dinner with Koshi Inaba in Beverly Hills, we went back to his place in my car. When I switched on the radio a song by The Clash was playing and Koshi really had to turn up the volume as he enjoyed the song. One year later, while we were in the car again, a song by The Clash was playing on the radio. Seeing how Koshi was singing along to the song hitting all the notes and getting the lyrics right, he told me he’s a great fan of them! So when we went to record for “JAM POWER”, I asked him if he could sing a song from The Clash. “In English?” he asked. “Yeah” I replied. Then I checked out a bunch of my favorite Clash tunes to find the one I liked best. As you all know I’m a big fan of funk, so I gave “This Is Radio Clash” a try, but Koshi’s voice was not suited for such a song.

When I met Koshi in Hawaii again, we were barbecuing steaks and once we listened to “Police On My Back”, we said “This is it!!” When I was in high school in San Diego, the band I was in performed that song numerous times, so I knew the song quite well. After Jara Slapbak added the funky style to the rhythm track, I flew over to Tokyo to record the vocals with Koshi. When I came back to LA, King’s X singer Doug Pinnick sang the chorus for the song and, with that, polished it.

(Translated from Japanese)

And here’s the tracklist as well as cover:

01. Tell Me Something Good (Chaka Khan)
02. Girls Got Rhythm (AC/DC)
03. Police On My Back (The Clash)
04. Disco Lady (Johnnie Taylor)
05. Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey (The Beatles)
06. This Is Radio Clash (The Clash)
07. No Air (Jordin Sparks)
08. Getaway (Earth, Wind & Fire)
09. Only Happy When It Rains (GARBAGE)
10. Moonage Daydream ~Live in New York version~ (David Bowie)
11. Ondularte ~Fading Out~ (Gandhi) * Japanese Bonus Track